Observing

My summer taste buds are craving peach cobbler, a real tomato, corn on the cob and ice tea drowning with lemon. Intellectually, I need a good summer romance story. No doubt, some are written better than others. I’m not talking high literature, just a good story. I thought I found a good romance book last night, it was about summer romance and seemed so appropriate but, it was going nowhere fast except back to the shelf.

My music taste has blossomed from re-discovering the Brasilian sounds of Tribalista and Ed Motta to newly discovering Amina Alaoui.

Black Lotus, created in 1983

I’m trying to figure out the fascination with this Casey person trial. Well, not really; I’m doing all I can to avoid it. There’s this little deficit issue that to me is so much more important, but getting so much less conversation. What if the deficit limit isn’t increased? Why is this taking so long? If the budget continues to grow, what number is bigger than a trillion? That would be a quadrillion and the largest number would be a centillion.

C’est le 14 juilliet!! Happy Bastille Day!! Today is a French national holiday remembering the storming of the Bastille.

Today is also the Fourth Day of the Summer Blog Bast Tour and I lifted this schedule from the HappyNappyBookseller.

Check out the SBBT Day 4 interviews
Tessa Gratton @Writing & Ruminating
Micol Ostow @ A Chair, A Fireplace & A Tea Cozy
Maria Padian @Bildungsroman
Genevieve Cote @Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast
Vera Brosgol @ Iectitans

I’ve had a couple of people invite me to join them in Google+. It feels like just one more thing to do and it scares me because it’s Google. Sorry Google, I don’t trust you. Google is not just a search engine, Google collects information. I get that  Google has better people to collect information on than me, but I don’t like the idea of them knowing any more about me or my loved ones than I want them to. From what I understand, people are having a difficult time figuring out Google+ so if you’re one of those people, here’s a cheat sheet. Perhaps there’s also a cheat sheet for the deficit.

If you’ve been wondering, comic book characters are not only Black and White. They’re Asian, too!

Did you know that Candlewick Press has free online audio samples? Listen here to the soon to be released Ghetto Cowboy by G. Neri, illustrated by Jesse Joshua Watson.

Can anyone translate this for me?

College costs are getting outrageous! While a college education should improve a person outlook for the future, it can also increase their personal deficit (seeing a theme here?). These scholarships could help make continuing education a reality for a young person of color.

Not much luck on the job front, yet, but I’m still looking. I’m cleaning clutter and arranging memorabilia my children have left with me. I feel like I’m getting to know them in a new way by seeing what they felt was important enough to keep, the memories they cherished and what they’ve accomplished. Who they were, what they are…what’s the opposite of a deficit?

There’s so much left to do this summer! Trips to take, places to go and people to see! I don’t want returning to work to feel like a death sentence. Returning to work with young minds should feel like beginning a new discovery, a year of promise and possibilities, a year that grows from a summer full of life!

 

5 responses

  1. A few weeks ago I was at Publix supermarket, and purchased an ugly tomato. It actually had flavor and I was snacking on it. Something I never do with tomatoes. I haven’t seen it at any other Publix.

    • Doret,
      I heard a piece on NPR last week about the poor quality of tomatoes in the US and how biologists re re-engineering the tomato so that it will have flavor. Re engineering the tomato.

      • I just got back from that Publix and the ugly tomato was 3.99lb. When I bought it was on sales for 1.29 lb. They tease me with flavor, and taunt me with high prices.

        Have you ever tired a Grapple? It’s a apple grape hybrid. I haven’t. The first time I saw it in the supermarket I thought it was a joke.

  2. Summer isn’t really my season so I don’t crave much. If you have any space, you might want to grow your own tomatoes. I buy my seeds from SeedSavers.org

    Thanks for linking to Ghetto Cowboy. I’m listening to it now. It sounds pretty interesting though I don’t love the cover. :-/

    • Thanks, Vasilly!
      I tried growing tomatoes last year. The soil around here supports flowers but not veggies. Weird! I thought about getting some pots to grow some fresh veggies. I really like getting my hands in the soil!

Comments are closed.