Going Postal

Posted on 30 June 2010 Wednesday


First I have to mention: Today, The Bottom of  Heaven is featuring Doret, TheHappyNappyBookseller on Humanizing Cholly Breedlove: Vilified? Redeemed? How did you respond to this character or how might we read him today?

Naughty Book Kitties t-shirt give away is meant to celebrate LGBT week. Find out more about the week on this great post at Multiculturalism Rocks.

now for today’s post…

I hate to come home with regrets and right now, I have one. I regret not having sent postcards to my nephews. I know, no one does those any more, do they? Me, I’m a letter writer from way back. I still think people enjoy receiving things, especially unexpected things, via postal mail. Letters and postcards can be tucked aways and saved in ways that emails cannot. Sure, what we put into the ether stays forever, but how do we always access it? I need something I can tie ribbons on, fold and refold, look at the handwriting and image that hand that wrote it.
Letters.
Did Emmett Till have a chance to send a postcard or letter home?
I like how this blog documents Letters of Note by providing an image of the original letter as well as a transcription. Posting an email wouldn’t be quite the same.
I don’t even have a postcard I picked up along the way to send them. I’ll have to do better next time!
Posted in: Me Being Me