iPhone + Road trips = Library Visit

Posted on 23 July 2010 Friday


I finally got an iPhone and my daughter warned me to prepare a 3-5 hour block to play with it. I have spent way too much time playing Whirly Word and Unblock Me. I forgot about the cool Map app while in NYC until Zetta reminded me it would be a great way to find Spoonbread!  I spent a little time with FaceTime and that’s all about playing: swiveling the phone, turning it upside down and showing off the blue toenails. I’m finding I like keeping the stuff I do on my ‘puter right on my puter, stuff like FB, Twitter…

Oh, I’ve downloaded my fair share of free stuff and am putting together a list of apps for education for a blog post. Polls are showing that Black and Latino students are big on phone usage, so this could be a great way to increase teaching effectiveness.

Remember that car charger with the FM tuner I mentioned yesterday? I’m using that for road trips so that I can play tunes from my phone through the radio. I got one it with the hand free device so that I can also talk on the phone while driving.  I decided to add some sparkle to my music stash by visiting the public library and checking out some CDs.  I thought there was a limit on how many CDs I could get, and there is: 60!

My loot list:

music

Phoebe Snow: Second Childhood (yes, the one with Poetry Man!!)

George Winston: Autumn

Josh Groban: Awake

Neil Diamond: Greatest Hits vol 2

Whitney Houston: Whitney

Sammy Davis Jr and Carmen McRae: Boy meets Girl

Willie Nelson: Lost Highway

and some books on CD:

Train to Trieste by Domnica Radulescu

Something on the Side by Carl Weber

I’ve uploaded the music, not sure about the books. I may just play them through the car’s CD player. Suggestions appreciated!

