SundayMorningReads

Posted on 3 August 2010 Tuesday


I know, I know: it’s not Sunday! I did read several  items planning to post them on Sunday and though it is late, I really enjoy doing my Sunday posts and am going to do it now even though it’s Tuesday.

Blame the lateness on Twitter. I’ve been spending way too much time there lately. As a new school year roars its head, the posts are getting more and more inviting. The longer I stay online, the more I stress my neck. Too long, and it’s a headache that only time cures and that’s where I was Sunday and Monday. I’m going to get this post up and force myself to move on so that my neck doesn’t remain an issue for me today.

My most recent find on Twitter was @KidlitCon2010. I’m following them and considering presenting. This year’s focus is

· Issues of diversity in reviewing/blogging
· Effective marketing/networking
· Ethics of book reviews
· Beyond the blog (vlogs, etc.)

I wonder what diversity issues most concern my readers?

Registration for the conference is now open

I do keep adding new titles to my 2010 book list. I don’t post when I’m adding, so if you’re looking for new titles, you might just click over there and see what’s new.

I hope you’ve finished reading the Greg Neri interview on The HappyNappyBookseller and Reading in Color. Yummy has already received starred reviews and I’m sure you’ll want to know about Mr. Neri and add his books to your shelves.

Remember a while ago I did a book pairing with One Crazy Summer and Revolution is not a Dinner Party? I found an excellent article to deepen the theme of REVOLUTION for MG readers while adding two more titles to the theme:  Leaving Glorytown: One Boy’s Struggle Under Castro and Under Siege! Three Children at the Civil War Battle for Vicksburg.

Yesterday, I plopped my tv on C-SPAN and found a re-broadcast of a hearing before the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation.  Committee chairperson Jay Rockefeller was sharing his concern that the divide between those who know online risks and those who are just thrilled to be online posting information on numerous sites is growing.  He’s concerned for those who use the Web with no knowledge of how things are linked around the Internet and traced back to them leaving doors open to inherent consequences such as bullies and predators. He felt that IF you make all the right moves, you could probably protect yourself, but you would still be tracked.

I found this interesting in light of the recent WSJ series on how we are tracked online and yesterday’s article on Microsoft preventing measures to protect online security.

One of the TV shows I picked up over the summer is Leverage. In a recent episode, one of the characters said something like “don’t people know privacy doesn’t exist anymore?” I don’t know that I’m ready to accept that.  I know that everything I put on any social media site can be collated and pulled up by certain search engines, I’m told it’s even possible for me to find the last place anyone traveled on the web!

What are we teaching students about privacy? I love this far-reaching description of digital literacy that prompts us to teach responsibly. Not just to filter and block sites but to teach students how to protect themselves online. Young people of color are embracing the technology. Research from the Pew Charitble Trust  clearly shows Black and Latinos are miles ahead with cell phone technology. (Latino usageThey’re ahead of the game in attendance at online universities as well.  High school is clearly the time to teach the digital skills necessary to succeed in the years to follow whether they be in the work place or places of higher learning. Using it is one thing, mastering it is another.

So, where are the PoC tech gurus?

Prof. Joseph Turow of the Annenburg School for Communication feels that education is no longer enough to help us understand and be protected online. While he sounds intellectually arrogant, he does seem to have the pulse of the public when it comes to taking the time to understand issues rather than letting ourselves to told what we know. He doesn’t think the public can, or will, understand the linkages and affiliations buried in policies and agreements. I myself find that I don’t like when GoodReads will link to and auto post onto Facebook. I don’t like making it that to be traced behind the scenes.

We keep hearing the buzzword ‘critical thinking’. At some point, we’ll have to teach that thinking is critical.

proofreading is critical, too. I apologize for any typos I might have missed.

Posted in: Sunday Reads