Giving Up!

Posted on 28 August 2010 Saturday


I’m complaining about 90 degrees again with no rain in site, yet I’ll get my errands done while driving in my air conditioned car to buy whatever food I want to eat and return to my air conditioned home to read, watch television and wash and dry clothes in machines. Perhaps I’ll meet my sister for lunch where I’ll probably find another reason to complain about the job I’ve been fortunate enough to have for the past 13 years and I’ll leave the waiter a small tip for the service. What else will I do? Pretty much whatever I decide, God willing and the river don’t rise too high. Insha’Allah.

Well, in Pakistan the river has risen too high so one other thing I’m doing is texting my financial support. Then, my day will continue on its path. That text, so painless, so quick and so critically necessary. It will give my day a little meaning!

The State Department and U.S. Embassy Islamabad announced a new mobile phone donation campaign that asks mobile phone users to text “SWAT” to 50555. Each text donates $10 to the U.N. High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), whose emergency response teams are delivering supplies in Balochistan and Kyber Pakhtunkhwa provinces. The donations support UNHCR’s efforts to distribute humanitarian assistance to an estimated 200,000 people displaced by floods.

organizations working in Pakistan:

World Vision

UNICEF

Charity Organizations in Pakistan:

Al-Khidmat Foundation: Donate here.

Edhi Foundation: Donate here.

TCF Relief Fund for Flood Victims: [contact link]

SUNGI: [Flood Donation Appeal – PDF]

Pakistan Red Crescent Society: PRCS has offices in Islamabad, Lahore, Karachi, Peshawar, Quetta and Muzaffarabad. [Contact Information]

Plan International: donation link for Pakistan.

Renowned journalist and anchor person, Syed Talat Hussain has established a relief fund with his colleague Kashif Abbasi. You can donate to them, through the following means:

Title of Account: Syed Talat Hussain/ Kashif Abbasi
Account No: 0516616341000689
Bank: Muslim Commercial Bank
Branch: Stock Exchange Branch, Blue Area, Islamabad
Branch Code: 1390
Swift Code: MUCBPKKAA

For further details:

Tel: +92-51-111010010
SMS: +92-347-5023842, +92-301–5473521

Karachi Relief Trust: Working in Nowshera (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) and Sindh. [donation link]

The Mahvash and Jahangir Siddiqui Foundation (MJSF): collecting donations for flood relief. [donation link].

Shehzad Roy and Zindagi Trust: [donation link]

Posted in: Me Being Me