SundayMorningReads

Why is history so selective? I wonder how much further we would evolve in ways that really matter if blendings, crossings and past meetings were not obliterated from history. I wonder this because of LaBloga’s review of The Chinese in Mexico, because of the DuSable Museum’s Africans in Mexico Exhibit, not to mention the fact that too many don’t even know who Jean Baptiste Point du Sable was. If NYC is more within your reach, Musings gives us access to Hispanic NYC and the Latinization of American just in time for Latino Heritage Month, 15 September – 15 October.

The Heartland may be one of the driest places in the US with respect to cultural, but it blossoms in September!! Fiesta is just one of the many highlights that I discovered years ago when my children were young enough to hang with mom.  There’s the IndyJazzFest and like most great cities, it’s National Library Card Month. I wish I still  had my first library card! My dad took all three of us to the Mott Branch Library in Toledo where we were each given a hand written card that must have measured 3″x5″.  It got quite worn and was replaced with a smaller card either because I lost the first one or out grew it, I’m not sure which.

Do you still have your first card? Have you gotten your first card??

I do hope my readers will continue to help me win technology. Although not my doing, I apologize for the confusing site. I think this is how it works:

Digital Wish is giving away money to teachers. You vote for which teacher you want to win. In order for teachers to get money, you have to vote for Digital Wish so that they can get money from Pepsi Refresh and, you have to register with Pepsi Refresh. Thanks a lot, isn’t it?

Literary Jewels found on Fuse #8

Scholastic and PictureLiteracy has this (less complicated) contest for classrooms in grades 1-6 to win graphic novels for high risk students.

Selectivity. I really don’t get why Ninth Ward wasn’t promoted more during the anniversary of Katrina. Actually, I do but I don’t. It’s much the same reason why the press chose/chooses to ignore the flooding in Pakistan. Nonetheless, Roscoe at RIF just ran this awesome review of Ninth Ward. I really liked the format of the review.

Somehow, I began following Gina Ruiz on Twitter. This led me to her blog. WOW! She posts scrumptious photos of her food creations situated with appetizing tales of family and time spent cooking. I’ve email links to her posts to my children only to have them respond that they’d be trying that recipe soon, very soon. I was so happy to see Gina Ruiz, social media guru featured on the Cybil site!

I’m going to wish you a happy labor day by giving you this delightful post on mole and potato salad by Gina Ruiz.

A bientot!

app of the week:  Mind Meister

I’m currently reading: Vast Fields of Ordinary; Buddy Zooka in the French Quarter and Beyond

2 thoughts on “SundayMorningReads

  1. Maybe history is so selective because of who is doing the telling. The museum exhibit in Chicago sounds really good. I don’t have my first library card, thankfully because my handwriting was a very hot mess then. Now its passable.

    That is great review of Ninth Ward. Glad to see it getting some more blogger love. I think its one of the best middle grade novels of the year.

  2. I don’t have my first library card, which is a shame–I always got rid of my library cards when I moved to a new place, but I would love now to be able to go back and look at all of them and remember the libraries that were attached to the cards. Because I have moved around so much, and getting a new card is always one of the first things I do when I move into town, I’m sure there would be upwards of 20 cards, adding in the school library cards and there might have been more. The first library I can remember is when I lived in a very small town of 500 in Illinois, the town library was in a small converted Victorian house. The children’s book section was probably only one or two small rooms at most.

Comments are closed.