SundayMorningReads

Posted on 12 September 2010 Sunday


Just about every blog I read will eventually take the time for a public session on introspection and now, I guess it’s my turn.

My banner photo came from a quilt shop in Salvador de Bahia that shares my name

This comes after just a few more slights that make me wonder why I keep doing this. I began this blog on 4 June 2006, have had over 50,000 hits and am not sure how many followers I have, but I’m pretty sure it’s fewer than 80. My most popular posts are the ones listing summer Internships for students and the one about Drama High. So few people click links in my posts that there is little reason to take the time to create them. I love Feedjit and the capability it gives me to see that I’ve been read by someone in Markle IN, San Luis Potosi, Beverton OR and Islamabad.

I know I’m not a major player in the book blog world, I don’t try to be. I blog because I like promoting books for teens of color and the authors that write the books. I got so tired of hearing people say they couldn’t find books with Black teens or Latino teens that I decided to do something about it. I eventually learned that blogging is about being part of a community so I began visiting other blogs, leaving comments and making connections which sometimes led readers back here, sometimes didn’t. I looked for YA bloggers all over the place, finding some I liked more than others and adding them to my GoogleReader. In addition to the blogs over there in my list I follow blogs like Chicken Spaghetti, GreenBeenTeenQueen (where I won my first book!), Books and Wine, Stephen’s Lighthouse and Librarian by Day to name a few. I don’t do a lot of behind the scene emailing nor had I been participating in blogger activities. Yet, I find that these are crucial for connecting with other bloggers and becoming part of a larger community.

Recently, I’ve become more involved on my listservs. When librarians ask for middle school romance books for boys, I chime in with POC titles and if I hadn’t given her POC titles, she wouldn’t have gotten them because she didn’t ask for them. This got me wondering how often people of color marginalize ourselves by only connecting with people of color? I think we have the responsibility to make our presence known as much as educators, publishers and librarians (leaders) have the responsibility to acquire information that allows them to represent all they serve. I hate that I missed the sign up for Book Blogger Appreciation week! I didn’t see it when it was announced back in August, but managed to see mention of it now that it’s about to begin. I do know that I’m done with challenges, they’re too much for me! Read-Ins? I’m there!! Not only do I get a chance to read, but I’m connecting and promoting POC titles.

Of course listservs haven’t brought me any new followers or gotten any of my followers to take the time to leave a comment or two but then I don’t blog to promote ME. Nonetheless, dear reader it would be good to know you’re there sometimes. There are times I can’t even GIVE away books because no one will respond. I’ve decided not to do author interviews anymore because the lack of comments the author gets is just embarrassing. I think if you’re going to read a blog with any regularity that every once in a while, you should find something to say that translates to ‘I’m here and I’m liking what you do’. Heck, it could even say ‘have you considered trying… or how could you!’.

My current read is set near my hometown, Toledo

What do I want to fix/repair/change? I wish I were better at proofreading. I used to like just giving information, but I’d like to work on posting in a way that invites readers to share with me, too. That, however will be like pulling teeth! I know I have the focus I want, the question for me at this point is whether I want to grow and if so, how I want to do that. I’ve enjoyed this way more than I thought I would way back in 2004. I do believe I’ve gotten a few more people buying books for teens of color and found ways to support those who also promote literacy for teens of color yet, I think I”m missing too many opportunities. It’s difficult to realize effectiveness in this forum when met with continual silence. Regardless, I’m going to look for ways to be more effective at what I do.
Now I’m going to get dressed and go to ChinaFest.

What are you going to do this week?

Posted in: Sunday Reads