SundayMorningReads

Posted on 10 October 2010 Sunday


October. A month I love for several reasons. I love to see and smell the days turn to fall. Even as these bones age and feel deep chills to their core, fall continues to be my favorite season because it means winter is next. Even though the cold can sometimes be hard to take, I do enjoy living where I fully experience each of the four seasons. I like the dramatic sense of change they bring and the feeling of renewal.

Many family and friends celebrate birthdays, like my sister who turns 50 today. Taiwan celebrates Double Ten Day and I know they’re doing it in style with magnificent firework celebrations. Halloween? Not so much. I’m sorry, it’s a day, not a season, for children.

Several new books are coming out this month and I hope you’re following the new releases posts on TheHappyNappyBookseller on Tuesdays. Being released tomorrow is Zora and Me by Victoria Bond and T.R. Simon. Rasco from RIF gives us a wonderful interview with Bond and Simon as only Rasco can do.

As you know, I did the 24 Hr. Readathon yesterday. It’s a phenomenal event with different bloggers providing activities every hour with prizes, cheerleaders visiting your blog to keep you energized and readers themselves are encouraged to visit each others blogs to read memes to learn about each other. Like last year, the event came when the job is wearing me down and reading is something I just don’t have the energy to do. I prefer the mindlessness of television to relax my mind and body. The readathon lets me remember how much I enjoy being transported in books and why they’re such an important part of who I am. I took a break yesterday to enjoy time with my son and daughter in law but skipped the Indiana Authors event at the public library which I almost rationalized attending. I’ve heard books referred to as the original form of social networking, but they isolate us, too.

I read:

The Flat World and Education by Linda Darling-Hammond (review to follow)

Someone Knows My Name by Lawrence Hill

Marching Together for Freedom by Elizabeth Partridge

Cloud Tea Monkeys by Mal Peet and Elspeth Graham

Finding Family by Tonya Bolden (review to follow)

The Aristobrats by Jennifer Solow (review to follow)

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Enjoy your week, enjoy your October! I hope you find little ways to renew and restore.

Posted in: Sunday Reads