SundayMorningReads

Posted on 19 December 2010 Sunday


I suppose it’s good not to quite finish everything I wanted to do this year so that I have reason to look forward to the next. For instance, I was told to be sure to read When the Stars Go Blue and I wanted to get it done before creating a ‘best of list’. Unfortunately, my library’s copy has spent the last week in central processing just waiting to make its way home to my shelves to no avail. Since I won’t be getting that book read this year and since there are already so many ‘best of lists’ anyway, I’ve decided to do it a little different. I hope this intrigues you to want to read something you may have missed!
I owe someone a sincere thanks for inspiring this post, but I honestly don’t remember who. If this post looks like something you’ve seen recently on the blogosphere, please let me know where so I can give credit where it’s due.
2010 books with my favorite covers:
When the Stars Go Blue by Caridad Ferrer
Tutored by Allison Whittenberg
Ninety Miles to Cuba by Enrique Flores-Galbis
Wanting Mor by Rukhshana Khan
Which group of characters in books I read in 2010 would I most like to see cast on Dancing with the Stars?
Drama High series by L. Divine
The World is Mine by Lyah LeFlore
Pull by B.A. Binns
Which characters would I like to mashup?
I’d like to see Jameela from Wanting Mor in a story with Maddie from Saving Maddie.
I just can’t help but wonder what conversations these young ladies would have, and how much they could gain from each other. Perhaps Maddie could bring Jameela a sense of joy and sheer fun while Jameela would cause Maddie to re-evaluate her self-centered life.


Who would I like to have visit in my school library?
Balsa from Moribito:Guardian of the Spirit, Bug from Soul Enchilada and Amal from Does my Head Look Big in This because they could teach my girls a thing or two about self confidence!


Which 2010 books need to be added to the curriculum?
Chenxi and the Foreigner by Sally Rippen (upper grades)
Yummy by Greg Neri (upper grades)
Eighth Grade SuperZero (middle grades)
Bamboo People by Mitali Perkins (middle grades)

TBR before I begin 2011 books:

When the Stars go Blue
Losing My Cool
Tell Us We’re Home
Finding My Place
Heart of a Samurai


authors I’d like to see more of  in 2011
Malin Alegria
An Na
Bil Wright
Zetta Elliott

Posted in: Sunday Reads