MaleMonday: Walter Mosley

Posted on 27 December 2010 Monday


Male Monday is a meme that began with Ari @ Reading in Color

 

 

Take a listen to Walter Mosley over at the Big Think talking about what makes great literature, what makes something classic. It’s not about the maleness or Blackness but it is about telling a good story that can transcend boundaries because it’s so easy to relate. It meets us where we are.

“The idea is… and a lot of people who think about writers actually think about reading.  They’ll say, you know, they’ll think about the great novels, this oh, you must have read you know, Albert Camus and Virginia Wolff and Shakespeare, when really you know, the books that made you become a writer was “Tom Swift” and the “Hardy Boys” and “Nancy Drew.”  That the love of writing comes at a very early age, you know, like for me for instance, comic books so affected me.  And you know, a lot of people who come up to me and start talking about writing, when I start talking to them about the “Fantastic Four,” they look at me aghast.  They say, “’The Fantastic Four?’  That’s not literature.”  I say, “Yeah, but it was when I was 11 years old.”  This was literature.  This was telling me what life was about.  This was how I kind of entered life, through fiction.”  source: http://bigthink.com/ideas/25183

 

Mosley’s books for teens:

47

This year you write your novel

Last days of Ptolemy Gray (adult with teen appeal)

Posted in: male monday