Getting Essentials: Native and Middle Eastern

Posted on 29 December 2010 Wednesday


I’m getting great suggestions for books to add to a core list of POC titles for teens. It’s hard for me to imagine a school library that would have a hard time adding books with characters of color, but I’m sure they exist. 21st century librarians realize the need to open up their students to the world around them and will want to add, or will already have most of these titles. I wanted to list only 10 from each ethnic group, but I dunno…  These are books every library should have!

In addition to what readers are giving me, I’ll looking at what I’d consider definitive sources for titles. This is what I’ve got so far for Native American and Middle Eastern. BTW– with respect to Middle Eastern books, I’m noticing YA/chidlren’s books are dominated quite heavily by books by and for female readers. Wonder why?

Native American
Code Talker: A Novel about the Navajo Marines of World War Two by Joseph Bruchac

Aleutian Sparrow by Karen Hesse
Rain is Not my Indian Name; Indian Shoes by Cynthia Leitich Smith
Sees Behind Trees by Michael Dorris
The People Shall Continue by Simon Ortiz
As Long as the Rivers Flow: The stories of nine Native Americans by Paula Gunn Allen
Counting Coup: Becoming a Crow Chief on the Reservation and beyond by Joseph Medicine Crow
Walking the Choctaw Road by Tim Tingle
The Absolute True Story of a Part Time Indian; The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven  by Sherman Alexie

I could not have developed this list without the lists provided by Debbie Reese and Cynthia Leitich Smith

Middle Eastern American
Borderline by Alan Stratton
Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
Extraordinary Women from the Muslim World, by Natalie Maydell and Sep Riahi, paintings by Heba Amin.
Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
Does My Head Look Big in This by Randa Abdel-Fattah
19 Varieties of Gazelle: Poems of the Middle East by Naomi Shihab Nye
Figs and Fate by Elsa Marston
Mosque by David Macaulay
Teen Life in the Middle Eastedited by Ali Akbar Mahdi
A Little Piece of Ground by Elizabeth Laird
Wanting Mor by Rukhsana Khan
I consulted the Middle Eastern Book Award site to prepare this list http://socialscience.tjc.edu/mkho/MEOC/middle_east_book_award.htm

Tagged:
Posted in: Me Being Me