SundayEveningReading SPECIAL EDITION!!

The votes are in! 61  participants decided what will be the first book in the African American Read-In sponsored by Miss Attitude/Ari, Doret and myself!

Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves will be the book we’ll be reading and discussing!!  Doret and Ari have read and thoroughly enjoyed Bleeding Violet and I’ll be downloading to my Nook very soon. I’ve enjoyed showing this video of Ms. Reeves to my students to excite them about the possibilities for young writers of color. Ari has this great interview with the author which she posted in May.  Last January, Doret posted this review of the book. Somewhere, I recently read Ms. Reeves described as the “Lady GaGa of YA”. She’s breaking stereotypes and bringing a fresh voice to YA fiction. Don’t miss the chance to discover this new voice!

I have to mention that Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliott trailed by one single vote! While we’ll be featuring one book, do consider reading Wish or any of our other wonderful selections! Doret has an excellent rundown on each of the books.

Whether you buy Bleeding Violet from your local bookseller or request it from the library, I hope you’ll read it and join us in discussing this book!  Check back for the specific date and location of the chat which will be in February.

7 thoughts on “SundayEveningReading SPECIAL EDITION!!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention SundayEveningReading SPECIAL EDITION!! « Crazy Quilts -- Topsy.com

  2. I loved BLEEDING VIOLET. It was a strange, hypnotic, fascinating read. Also glad to learn about WISH AFTER MIDNIGHT. I’ve never heard of this book, but the premise sounds fascinating! I love learning about new titles!

  3. Pingback: don’t be normal… « Fledgling

  4. Pingback: Jessica’s Library Haul « Nisaba Be Praised

Comments are closed.