SundayMorningReads

Good morning!

This is the last week to register for a chance to win one of two copies of Jazz in Love by Neesha Meminger!

I have a short post here today because my neck is killing me. I”ve been working on a middle school book order at work this past week, consequently spending way too much time online. I’ve got some great books coming in such as the new Urban Underground series by Anne Shraff, another book in the Babygirl Daniels series, some earlier Mitali Perkins books and

Click to read a review

some very new books which include How Lamar’s Bad Prank Won a Bubba-Sized Trophy by Crystal Allen, The Great Wall of Lucy Wu by Wendy-Wan-Long Shan,  and Cyborg (The Clone Wars) by Patricia and Fred McKissak.
I’ve decided to join IndyReads and become a Literacy Tutor. I think acquiring skills to teach teens and adults how to read is almost a necessity to me as a 21st century librarian. (Ironic, huh?) I’m not looking forward to the late night training all this week and I’m trying to find excuses for not going when I see  a story on the news about a new superhero, Electron Boy. He’s a 14 year old boy born with half a heart, no spleen and fetal alcohol syndrome. He was adopted at an early age and now is unfortunately suffering from a rare and incurable cancer that is spreading throughout his body. When approached by the Grant A Wish Foundation, young Erik Martin said he wanted to be able to run faster and jump higher so that he could help other people. Electron Boy was born! He’s saved Seattle! A comic books is available which features this young superhero while raising funds for the Martin family. He also has a fanpage on FB.
OK, so I’m done complaining about giving up twelve measly hours this week so that I can help others learn to read.
I’m curious: What are some of the causes that you seen or participated in that help promote literacy?

 

4 thoughts on “SundayMorningReads

  1. Edi, you asked about literacy. I read this week to a second grade class, who had requested How the Grinch Stole Christmas. They could practically recite it by heart. I’m a volunteer reader once a week, and I really love these kids. They’re very interested in books and being readers, and love showing off how much they know about authors. I’d worked with first graders last year, who are a lot of fun, but the second graders seem so mature in comparison! This week I think I’m going to read A Sick Day for Amos McGee, which won the Caldecott, and then Paul Galdone’s version of The Three Pigs. They get a real kick out of folk tales, and this will set up Jon Scieszka’s True Story of the Three Little Pigs next week. I always like to read the original fairy tale first, as some of the children were not born in the US and may not be familiar with it.

Comments are closed.