Crossing Borders

Posted on 3 February 2011 Thursday


Crossing Borders is a series I sometimes do on Thursdays.

Day three of the Ice Vacation. I took the trash can to the curb and really thought I could walk around the block to get my mail. Stepping down from the rounded curb looked tricky as it was solid ice so I considered walking on the grass where I could get good traction  but the ice was too thick for my feet to break through. No, I didn’t get my mail. It’ll be there whenever I get there with all my bones intact.

Available to be read online

I’ve been looking at friends pics of New Years Feasts on FB. I don’t think I’m missing a lot of Taiwanese food. Some yes, some not so much! I do know that I still haven’t posted my core list of African American YA books. It will be coming up in February which is appropriate, but not planned. SLJ has a very nice article, Places in the Heart, where they’ve asked a wide variety of people to mention the first African American books that affected them. I like that this shows how we can all find meaning in each others’ stories.  This could be fun to do in a school library: ask teachers to name the African American books that affected them as a child and build a display around it.

I was looking for books for another project and was reminded of a book I listed in my 2007 book list, but
kinda forgot about. Are any of you familiar with Indonesian author Pramoedya Ananta Toer? His most popular series, the Buru Quartet [link to PBS] is about a young man who comes of age as the Dutch are losing control of their Indonesian colony. This definitely sounds as though it need to be on my core list. Hopefully, my public library will have the series, otherwise I’ll have to order my own copy. The Girl From the Coast is not part of this series but is available in GoogleBooks.  Hav any of you read any of these books? Although Pramoedya passed away in 2006 these books live on to give evidence to his activism on behalf of the people of his country. He was imprisoned while most of his works were written.  As I’m reading his biography, I see his birthday is 6 February. I probably should save this post until then, but I’m excited about these books! This is why I believe there should be a core list of POC books because just like with the books by African Americans, books by Latinos, Native, Arab and Asian Americans can also find places in our hearts.

