A Day Made For

Posted on 9 April 2011 Saturday


Good morning! If you’re doing the ReadAThon this morning, I hope you have a wonderful, reading filled day! Here in the heartland, we have that slow, gentle rain that could last all day and it seems to fit my need for a slow, gentle day. I’m looking forward to my hour on the treadmill so that I can finish The Other Wes Moore and I have a review of Bird in a Box to finish and post as well.

Yesterday, one of the tasks I worked on was processing new books. I love working with new books, I just wish it didn’t take so long. As part of this process, I place genre tags on the spine labels of my books. I don’t shelve my books by genre, I still place fiction alphabetically by the author’s last name, but I think these tags help patrons find books they might enjoy. Or do they? I’ve been pondering the use of these tags.

Can’t you usually tell the genre from the cover and title?

There’s such a fine line between adventure, sci fi and fantasy! And, why isn’t there a label for futuristic? Or funny?

Should books labeled ‘espanol’ also be labeled ‘Latino’?

It’s African American AND romance. Which label does it get? Or do I put both labels on the spine and cover the title?

Do patrons even look at these labels?

14 April is a day made for supporting teen literature. One way to do this is to Rock the Drop! From Readergirlz:

Readergirlz andFigment are going to ROCK THE DROP in honor of Support Teen Lit Day a week from today: Thursday, April 14th.  Here’s how you can get involved:

Snag the banner at right, created by David Ostow and add it to your website, and link it back to this post on  the Readergirlz website.

Print a copy of the bookplate and insert it into a book (or 10!) that you’ll drop on April 14th. Drop a book in a public spot (park bench, bus seat, restaurant counter?) and you’re done. Lucky finders will see that the book is part of ROCK THE DROP!
Whatever you find your day is made for, I hope you enjoy it!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged: ,