Asian-Pacific Heritage Month

Posted on 3 May 2011 Tuesday


I love blogging! It gives me such an opportunity to learn! I was going to do, am doing, a quick and easy post on Asian-Pacific American Heritage month, but in gathering photos to spruce up my verbage, I found out that

Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month – a celebration of Asians and Pacific Islanders in the United States. A rather broad term, Asian-Pacific encompasses all of the Asian continent and the Pacific islands of Melanesia (New Guinea, New Caledonia, Vanuatu, Fiji and the Solomon Islands), Micronesia (Marianas, Guam, Wake Island, Palau, Marshall Islands, Kiribati, Nauru and the Federated States of Micronesia) and Polynesia (New Zealand, Hawaiian Islands, Rotuma, Midway Islands, Samoa, American Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu, Cook Islands, French Polynesia and Easter Island).

Like most commemorative months, Asian-Pacific Heritage Month originated in a congressional bill.

source

Which of those places wouldn’t I like to visit?!! For now though, I’m limited to visiting them in books. I’m going to begin this month simply by posting my updated and final for now list of MUST HAVE!!! Asian-Pacific Heritage Month YA books for your library. My criteria for this list? I look for authentic voices, favoring authors writing from their own cultural experience. I’ve included books that push stereotypes and that teens will want to read. I think its a good list. You may not and that’s OK. It’s a starting point, a way for libraries to grow their YA collections.

In a few days, I’ll give you a glimpse at a few upcoming Asian-Pacific Heritage Month titles.

Adventures on the Ancient Silk Road by Priscila Galloway and Dawn Hunter
Escaping the Tiger by  Laura Manivong
Warriors in the Crossfire by Nancy Bo Flood
The Analects of Confucius by Confucius (Author),Simon Leys (Translator)
Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
Born Confused by Tanuja Desai Hidier
Chenxi and the Foreigner by Sally Rippin
American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
No No Boy by John Okada
Chinese Cinderella: The True Story of an Unwanted Daughter Adeline Yen Mah
A Step from Heaven; The Fold by An Na
Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus
Native Speaker by Chang-rae Lee
Kira Kira by Cynthia Kadohata
The Art of Inuyasha by Rumiko Takahashi
Good Enough by Paula Yoo
Samurai Shortstop by Alan Gratz
Stop Me if You’ve Heard This One Before by David Yoo
When My Name Was Keoko by Linda Sue Park
Snow Falling in Spring: Coming of Age in China During the Cultural Revolution by Moying Li-Marcus
Alive in the Killing Fields: Surviving the Khmer Rouge Genocide by Nawuth Keat
Golden  Mountain Chronicles series; Dragonwings by Laurence Yep
Nothing but the Truth (and a Few White Lies); Girl Overboard by Justina Chen Headley
Gangsta We Are All Looking For by Lê Thi Deim Thúy
I Love Yous are for White People by Lac Su
Silver Phoenix by Cindy Pon
Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford
Dragon Chica by May-lee Chai
Name Me Nobody by  Lois-ann Yamanaka
Necessary Roughness by  Marie G. Lee
Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit by Nahoko Uehashi
Born Confused by Tanuja Dasai Hidier
Mr. Pip by Lloyd Jones
