Coming Back

Posted on 10 June 2011 Friday


Hello!!

It’s been quite a while since my last post. I’ve been busy! I’m finding that the longer I avoid putting together the posts I’m formulating, the more difficult it is to do, the more I find ways to avoid it. So, I’ve decided to jump start things with just a short, informative post.

This past Wednesday, DC Comics announced they will be relaunching comics featuring Static, one of the publisher’s African American heroes which was co-created by the late writer Dwayne McDuffie who worked to get more people of color in the pages of comic books. McDuffie created Static while working with artist John Paul Leon at Milestone Media, the first major comic book imprint to feature non white lead characters.  The new comics about Static (who is actually a 15 year old named Virgil Hawkins) will be written by John Rozum and Scott McDaniel, who is also the artist.

McDuffie died in February

From my 2011 Booklist, new POC titles for June

The rampage of  Haruhi Suzumiya by Nagaru Tanigawa; Little, Brown Books for Young , 7  June

Level up  byGene Luen Yang and Pham Thiem; Roaring Brook Press, 7 June

City of ice (City Trilogy) by Laurence Yep; Starscape 7 June

Dork Diaries 3: Tales from a not so talented pop sta by Rachel Renee Russell; Aladdin 7 June

Doing my own thing (Fab Life #3) by Nikki Carter; Dafina,  June

 Dragon castle  by Joseph Bruchac; Dial books, 9 June


Posted in: New Books