True confession

You know how I’m always going on and on about diversity, about the need to expand our reading so we can expand our world? Well, I have to admit I don’t always practice what I preach. There are certain people I don’t like and will not read about. They’re vampires. I don’t like them (or ghosts, werewolves, zombies or other creatures of the dark night) because they give me nightmares. I do not watch scary movies and I’m sure scary books with their vivid descriptions will invade my peaceful sleep just as well. For me, it’s a good thing there are so few such creatures of color lurking through teen books, do they even exist? I’ve found several Latino adult vampires mostly written by Felix Gomez, a few African American and one Asian. There are even gay adult vampires. Some have slipped into manga, and Mario Acevedo and Marta Acosta are creating Latino vampire comics (or are they vampire Latino comics?). So, as far as I can tell, YA fiction isn’t all that dark!

Has anyone read any YA vampires of color?

5 thoughts on “True confession

  1. while they are scary they could actually be good poeple. I mean they are just portrayed as mean man killers( gee bet that helped you with your nightmares)but actually they are just poeple who have to live with a course

  2. Tananarive Due’s Vampire series is so good. The next one comes out in Sept, called My Soul to Take. I believe its also suppose to work well as a stand alone

    One Vampire free novel Due wrote that I loved was Joplin’s Ghost and it could work well for older teens.

  3. Night Wandered by Drew Hayden Taylor is a American Indian vampire novel. Whisper in the Dark by Joseph Bruchac features two kids freaking each other over an American Indian legend about a vampire-like creature when scary things start happening at their house (this one is MG, not YA).

  4. @Doret: Would Due’s vampire books work for teens?
    @dePizan: I missed those in my search, thanks!

    Hmm… do all of my readers read vampires??

    • I rarely do read vampire stuff, although every now and then there’s one that catches my eye. More often I read fantasy/urban fantasy where there’s all sorts of supernatural creatures thrown in and vampires might be among them, but not the main characters.
      Also, I have a typo in the Taylor title, it’s Night Wanderer.

Comments are closed.