There’s a Giveaway here!!

Posted on 6 July 2011 Wednesday


The summer has passed its midpoint and I’m still job hunting. I think I’m more frustrated by not knowing what I want to do than by not having an offer in hand. I’m remaining optimistic, though because things always work out.

I’m really optimistic and excited about a box on the way to my front door from Lee and Low! I haven’t received many books this summer, so this is something to look forward to.

I’ve purchased a couple of professional books that are making very good reading.

Building and Running a Successful Research Business: A Guide for the Independent Information Professional, Second Edition by Mary Ellen Bates

This is the handbook every aspiring independent information professional needs in order to launch, manage, and build a research business. Organized into four sections, Getting Started, Running the Business, Marketing, and Researching, the book walks you through every step of the process.

Urban Teens in the Library: Research and Practice – Paperback (Jan. 26, 2010) by Denise E. Agosto and Sandra Hughes-Hassell

This work does much to explain who urban teens are and what they need from their libraries. The authors examine the existing research—some of which they have performed—that provides a wealth of data for public and school libraries. Given the challenges in serving these patrons, practical options and suggestions are invaluable, yet few of the chapters build off the research to make such recommendations. Two examples of the combination of theory and practice are found in the chapters on developing a leisure reading program and urban teens’ search for health information. In addition, the four examples of best practices are also full of ideas. Other chapters, such as those on social networking and YA spaces, are more general and do not offer much guidance on applying the research to urban libraries. The chapter on street lit is a mixed bag: it provides a much-needed background to the genre, but does not explore the literature written for teenagers, such as the works of Coe Booth, Alan Sitomer, or Paul Volponi. All in all, this guide does live up to its title, combining research and practice in one volume. (SLJ)

I”m also reading Acts of Grace  by Karen Simpson(Nook version) on the treadmill. It’s the perfect treadmill book as it keeps me wanting to go to the gym so I can read more!

As Grace reluctantly embarks on the unlikeliest of journeys and into the magical world of the African-American traditions used by her ancestors to fight slavery and oppression, she undergoes a spiritual transformation that leads to the true nature of her calling: to lead Jonathan Gilmore, the town of Vigilant and her own soul on a path toward reconciliation, redemption and true grace. (Goodreads)

My ever growing Book Mountain grew last week when I ventured into HalfPricedBooks. Look what I found!

I’ve already read and thoroughly enjoyed The Jacket  by Andrew Clements (author of Frindle) and a review is coming! I also bought a second copy of the keepsake edition of The absolutely true diary of a part-time Indian. It’s such a beautiful edition! BUT!! Since I already have a copy, I’d like to give this to one of my readers.I have two ways to register:

  • leave your name the comments to this post
  • tweet this post to #crazyquilts
  • Deadline: 31 July 2011 @ midnight EST
Good Luck!           
Posted in: Me Being Me