SundayMorningReads

Does your work day have a rhythm, a flow that helps you feel like you’re accomplishing something? This changing work market where we’re all expected to do more with less creates a tension that makes it difficult to relax into a flow. I think one advantage I have by being in a low performing school is that there are clear cut expectations for what I do: have a positive impact on student performance. If I can tie what I’m doing to improved test scores, I’m doing good in the big picture. Yet, the daily grind can be … grinding.

I feel more focused this year than I have in a long time. Getting out there to teachers and being able to work with them on technology lessons, improving their tech skills and working reading into their classes is where I’m heading. I’m working on a Battle of the Books for Black History Month, bringing adult reading partners in for low ability readers and getting students blogging. While most will end up doing general blogs about reading, I would love to get them blogging about economics, environmental science and even Algebra. It would be so help to get students taking the concepts they’re learning about and writing about them with their classmates as their audience. But, teachers don’t blog and don’t necessarily see how this would work.

I’ve added QR for book reviews and the library wiki to the libraries front door and I also plan to make bookmarks with this information. I’ve read about an organization somewhere that gives students ARCs for them to read and review. I think that’s a great idea for getting students to read, it’s just getting all those ARCS!

It’s often said that if you don’t know where you’re going, you’ll never get there. Focus. Focus Focus! The days will work themselves out.

4 thoughts on “SundayMorningReads

  1. I love the idea of themed Battle of the Books competitions. That would be something great to do with my students after our district wide competition is over in March.

    Also, Edi, where are you getting your adult reading partners from?

  2. A school librarian’s work is never done and there always seems to be so much we can and want to do! I’d love to hear how you are using QR codes as I’d love to do that.

    We’re having technology issues at our school that are beyond frustrating. I try to convince teachers to use more technology then the tech fails and teachers bail.

  3. @ Helen, I hate the idea of still having to babystep with technology, but often that’s what we have to do in schools. I suggestion finding one or two online services that work really well (like Animoto) and really push those. If successful, they’ll attract other teachers. Also, everything we want to be done with technology can be done in two or three different ways. Perhaps there are alternatives you can use? Without all the filters and bans on equipment it would all be much easier but educators are resourceful!

    @katyvance I generate my own QR codes. It’s very easy. Try this site: http://qrcode.kaywa.com/

  4. I like the idea of student bloggers.

    I also feel the crunch, where I’ll do more with less.

    I’ve only brought a few ARCs to the workplace, but it seems exciting for students to get to read something that isn’t out yet.

    Have a great week.

Comments are closed.