SundayMorningReads

I hate to admit it, but it’s been difficult getting back into the rhythm of blogging. I used spend hours every evening reading blogs, researching for new posts, writing, checking stats and interacting with other bloggers. You know what happened when I stepped away? Nothing! I was missed no more than I missed blogging. I’ve thought a lot about my blogging issues and have decided that in coming back, I feel a need to be less random and more purposeful. I not sure where that thought will take me, but I do hope it will let me feel like I’m accomplishing something through all the time I spend blogging. Bottom line, I do really enjoy having a platform to give and take information that will improve the literacy of students of color.

And, I want to continue finding ways to do that in real life, too. I’ve talked about my job search. It has slowed down a bit since school started because I somewhat feel the need to finish what I’ve started. Things have changed, though. My school is being taking over by the state and transformed to a charted school. With all the rumors that are floating about what will happen, the one that rings most true to me is that they’ll be looking for young, new teachers. Given my age and length of service with the district, I’m sure I’ll be viewed as part of the problem. Whether or not that proves to be true, it’s time for complacency to end and for me to be serious about the opportunity to find where I want to work and what I want to do! I have obligations through December, but after that I view the world as my oyster!

Did you know that a really good way to find job openings is to talk to high school registrars? Former students come to them for copies of their transcripts for new jobs.

I supposed people have always created their own jobs but I’ve become more aware of it recently. One job I’d create for myself would be Librarian Blogger. I’d be an Internet Librarian who catalogs blogs, maintains a directory of related offline activities and follows trends. I’d be good enough for Yahoo to hire me as a part-time worker. Bloggers do a lot of incredible work, most obvious right now would be the Cybils. Don’t forget to nominate! The nature of the Cybils is a rare opportunity to call attention to outstanding works by authors of color which are too often ignored by other annual book awards. We cannot complain that the books aren’t there if we don’t nominate them.

Sometimes I want to be a librarian who is lost in a pile of books and there are times when this thought is more attractive than others. But, helping that one child who wants help finding a book or the one on the computer who doesn’t know how to double space will always feel like a better option.

Recently, a student asked for a book like A child called it. Now, I have to admit to not having read the book, probably never will but I do know it is a book of a child overcoming extreme abuse. Do students get attracted to the abuse or to the overcoming? I have to believe that because of their phase of development, teens are looking for tales of overcoming, of growing and taking charge of one’s own life. While too many students have lives that are far too similar to these tales, many teens feel that they are taken advantage of and on some level relate to David, the main character in A child called it. I think I best realized this while searching the Internet for similar books. While some simply listed ‘similar’ books, some took the time to say they were presenting books of overcoming odds or coming to terms with one’s past.

This opened the perception of what I was looking at to include a much wider variety of books. I added a few books about enslaved African Americans and those in the Civil Rights era but I think some may feel these tales are too close to home. Fiction and non-fiction stories of ‘others’ overcoming the worst of conditions allows students to feel the humanity of the situation, find hope and personal strength without becoming too personally attached/attacked. Stories of child soldiers in Sudan, the Shoah, forced child labor in Pakistan or Latin American would all be books I could easily see students reading about overcoming obstacles.

6 thoughts on “SundayMorningReads

  1. When I taught high school, students gravitated toward A CHILD CALLED IT.

    The description of librarian blogger sounds interesting.

    I feel for you being in a state school. I wish you the best in your future plans.

  2. What a great post, Edi! I’ve been having the same issues with blogging. I decided to keep blogging and bring purpose to it. There are a few librarian bloggers online and I think that would be a great job for you.

    I’ve nominated a few books for the Cybils. You are so write that we need to nominate books by people of color if we want them to get the attention we think they deserve.

  3. I’ve only recently discovered your blog, but I want to say that I’ve been enjoying reading it very much. You’re doing great work spotlighting books by and about people of color. Thank you for that.

  4. One thing I’ve missed while not blog hopping are your Sunday MorningReads. I agree getting back into the grove of blogging is difficult. For the Cybils for the most part I only nominate books that feature kids of color. I was happy to see What Momma Left Me by Watson, win the NERDS heart YA challenge.

  5. It sounds like you are really at a crossroads right now and that can be so scary, but so exciting! A new job possibly, a new direction in blogging? I hope the searches go well and that you find what you are looking for and need/want right now in your life.

Comments are closed.