We Baked and We Baked!

Posted on 12 December 2011 Monday


Tomorrow I’ll have to post about the great books I’ve received in the mail lately just to remind my readers that this is a book blog, for now it’s still cookies!!

Saturday was cookies and cocktails with my sister! I baked about 12 hours and my sister a bit longer. We were joined by my sister’s son and her neighbor who brought a delicious recipe for Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies. My nephew made a mint bark candy which was a great tie in with our Grasshoppers. Neither my sister nor I ever had Grasshoppers before, but we both really enjoyed them. The kids had Dulce de Leche Crème.

Ever the teacher, I asked my nephew his three wishes regardless of price or wrapability. He said he’d want a dvd of his favorite movie, world peace and an end to world hunger. That kid is really growing up on us! I can’t remember all of Kayla’s choices but I do remember she wanted a Range Rover for her mom. Not for herself mind you, but for her mom! I was so proud and amazed to see these two give up these wishes with unlimited potential to benefit someone else.

We baked Chocolate Dipped Peanut Butter Cookies, White Chocolate Macadamia, Lemon Ricotta, Paula Dean’s Moist Chocolate Cookies, a spritz cookie, Butterballs, Orleans and I think that’s it. I gave up and didn’t get to the butter cookies. I mailed boxes to my kiddos today and delivered lots and lots to co-workers. With mixed emotion, I have to report none remain in my house. I’d love to a few to much on while I finally finish Cleopatra’s Moon! (I don’t think I got any reading done last week.) But, I know I don’t need the calories.

Baking with my sister has become one of my few holiday traditions and although around 8 pm we wondered why we look forward to this every year, I have to admit I really look forward to this time with her. I don’t do a lot of parties and such, so sharing cookies with family and friends is something I look forward.

This is my 990th post!

 

Tagged:
Posted in: Me Being Me