Cookie Traditions

Posted on 13 December 2011 Tuesday


On of my few online friends that I’ve been able to meet in person is author Medeia Sharif. We met at ALAN last month and had dinner one evening with Lyn Miller Lachmann. I think Medeia and I share a real passion for teaching teamed with frustration for the condition of public education. Unlike me, Medeia is an extremely talented writing! Her first book, Bestest.Ramadan.Ever. was released this year and I believe she is currently working on her next book. Here, Medeia shares thought of cookies and holidays!

I’m not a domestic person. I haven’t cooked or baked in ages. Normal holiday fare is a batch of cookies from the local supermarket. Here’s a picture of some cookies I recently purchased. My favorite is the one with the red jam or jelly in the middle. I’ve loved those since I was a kid. 
As for music…holiday songs get tiring when in rewind, but one song I’ll always listen to is U2’s “Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)”. I listen almost exclusively to rock music and I adore U2. Here’s the song in case you don’t know it:
My favorite holiday book is Clive Barker’s The Thief of Always. The book has a protagonist named Harvey who enters a magical house where time is endless and no one ever ages, therefore he experiences a whirlwind of seasons. It’s not a real Christmassy book, but there is more than one Christmas scene, although everything in the house is tinged with evil. It’s one of my “cozy” novels in that I like to read it over and over again, especially on cold nights in the heated indoors.
Tagged:
Posted in: Me Being Me