Cookie Traditions

Posted on 24 December 2011 Saturday


O yes, it’s Christmas: I woke up this morning to find a bright red Mercedes in my garage! My son and DIL are here!! This is one of the rare holidays that all my children are home and it’s one of the best holiday’s I’ve had in a long, long time! Adding to the special events is the post from my dear friend, Amy Bowllan. Amy is one of the few people posting recipes that I’ve actually met in person. She blogs at Bowllan’s Blog on the School Library Journal site.
Her FB posts this past year took us through quite a challenging year confronting Amy and reminded us what a strong, determined woman that she is. Her ‘recipe’ is so appropriate for Christmas Eve, one of the most hurried days of the year! O! Please remember to come back tomorrow for my last post of the season. Be safe. Be warmed. Be at peace. Happy Holidays!
Cookies Make The Holidays GR8T by Amy Bowllan
My knack for baking is minimal but knowing where to go for yummy treats is maximal.  Looking for the best cookie to chomp on in the quiet of your home, while the snow glistens on the trees outside your window. Before you leave work, do take a stroll (or the MTA) up/down the majestic Madison Avenue to Marche Madison. They have the perfect chocolate chip cookies to snuggle with while you listen to Johnny Mathis’ Christmas tunes after a long day of work.
I remember as a little girl, leaving homemade chocolate chip cookies for Santa and the “big guy” was too polite to eat them all.  There were always leftovers for me on Christmas morning, as well as warmed (too warm to drink) milk.
Every holiday I am driven to find new and diverse books and this year I am eager to meet Virginia from The Christmas Coat Memories of My Sioux Childhood by Virginia Driving Hawk Sneve (HOLIDAY HOUSE, 2O11).
Posted in: cookies