Browsing All Posts published on »January, 2014«

ALA Youth Media Awards You Might Not See Elsewhere

January 27, 2014

3

edited I’m still at ALA with one more day for Best Fiction in Young Adult committee meetings. We have a few more books to discuss, then we vote on what books to add to the list and what books need to be in our Top Ten. Flights are getting canceled all over the country, so […]

30 Years of the Virginia Hamilton Conference

January 27, 2014

3

“Pearls of Wisdom: Celebrating 30 Years of the Virginia Hamilton Conference” The 30th Annual Virginia Hamilton Conference on Multicultural Literature for Youth will be held on Thursday, April 3, and Friday, April 4, 2014, at the Kent State University Student Center. The conference provides a forum for discussion of multicultural themes and issues in literature […]

SundayMorningReads

January 12, 2014

3

This may be my last post for a few weeks. ALA Midwinter is on the horizon and for me, it will be all about BFYA. Well, for the most part! I’ll be meeting several people in person who I’ve so far only know online. I have a small list of ARCs to pick up (Please […]

About Courage: Finale

January 8, 2014

5

  Courage is the most important of the virtues, because without courage you can’t practice any other virtue consistently. You can practice any virtue erratically, but nothing consistently without courage. ~Maya Angelou In the past days, beginning with G. Neri and Johnny Cash all the way through Ari  I hope you’ve seen what a human […]

Zora’s Birthday: A day for writing and writers

January 7, 2014

3

I use Grammarly’s plaigerism check because I don’t want to eat more grandma. I don’t usually start my posts with a teaser, but there you go! I hope that gets you ready for a post on writing and writers. I decided to write this post several days ago, before all the reminders from Google and […]

About Courage 10: Ari

January 6, 2014

1

Ari has been one of the most popular YA bloggers to date. I could easily attribute her wildly successful blog to her passion for literature in general or to her passion for diversity in particular, but Ari will be successful at anything she chooses to do. Note her email handle “willbprez”. Because of the young […]

New Releases: January 2014

January 5, 2014

1

If you prefer visuals, visit my Pinterest page. Fake ID by Lamar Giles; Amistad Debut author Lamar Giles takes readers on a wild and dark ride in this contemporary Witness Protection thriller. Fake ID is a compelling story full of twists and turns—sure to appeal to fans of James Patterson, Harlan Coben, and John Grisham. […]

About Courage 9: Debbie Reese

January 4, 2014

1

Debbie Reese is tribally enrolled at Nambe Pueblo in northern New Mexico. She’s from the Upper Village (Yates family).  Debbie enjoys teaching! She’s taught elementary school in public schools and in tow schools for American Indians. As a Former Assistant Professor at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign she taught Children’s Literature, Social Studies Methods (Elementary […]

About Courage #8: Cindy Pon

January 3, 2014

Comments Off on About Courage #8: Cindy Pon

Cindy Pon is the author of Silver Phoenix (Greenwillow, 2009), which was named one of the Top Ten Fantasy and Science Fiction Books for Youth by the American Library Association’s Booklist, and one of 2009′s best Fantasy, Science Fiction and Horror by VOYA. The sequel to Silver Phoenix, titled Fury of the Phoenix, was released […]