Browsing All Posts filed under »New Books«

January Releases

January 7, 2016

Comments Off on January Releases

Vanessa’s Fashion Face-Off (Confidentially Yours) by Jo Whittemore;HarperCollins Perfect for fans of The Cupcake Diaries and The Babysitters Club, this new series is about four best friends who are confidentially yours when writing their middle school newspaper’s advice column. Vanessa Jackson has style to spare and an amazing ability to rock any look. She’s always […]

New Releases: January 2015

January 11, 2015

Comments Off on New Releases: January 2015

A late post for a slow starting year for authors of color. Please, let me know what I’ve missed. Emeralds and Ashes by Leila Reshad (Disney Hyperion) The Boy in the Black Suit by Jason Reynolds (Atheneum) X A Novel by Ilyash Shabazz and Kekla Magoon Stella by Starlight by Shapon Draper (Atheneum) Chasing Freedom : […]

November Releases

November 21, 2014

2

Loweriders in Space by Cathy Camper; Chronicle Books Lupe Impala, El Chavo Flapjack, and Elirio Malaria love working with cars. You name it, they can fix it. But the team’s favorite cars of all are lowriders—cars that hip and hop, dip and drop, go low and slow, bajito y suavecito. The stars align when a […]

New Releases: October

October 6, 2014

Comments Off on New Releases: October

On Pinterest Complete list of 2014 Releases (more or less) Tell Me Again How A Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan; Algonquin  “Both personal and universal, this is a compelling story about high school, family and owning up to who you really are. Farizan is just the voice YA needs right now. Trust me, you’ll […]

Blog Tour: Scar of the Bamboo Leaf

September 18, 2014

Comments Off on Blog Tour: Scar of the Bamboo Leaf

Scar of the Bamboo Leaf by Sieni A.M. Genre: Young Adult fiction, Contemporary Romance “Her heart wept when she realized that the hardest part about loving him was the idea that his love was never meant for her.” Walking with a pronounced limp all her life has never stopped fifteen-year-old Kiva Mau from doing what she […]

September Releases

September 1, 2014

1

Need covers? They’re on my Pinterest board for this month.   Dork Diaries 8: Tales from a Not-So-Happily Ever After by Rachel Renee Russell; Aladdin     Nikki Maxwell’s favorite fairy tales get dork-tastic twists in this entry in the #1 “New York Times”-bestselling series. After a bump on the head in gym class on April […]

August Releases

August 8, 2014

Comments Off on August Releases

Although somewhat late, I am so glad to deliver this list of MG and YA releases by authors of color for the month of August. It’s been quite a long while since we’ve seen so many releases in one month. If you prefer a more visual presentation, visit the Pinterest Board. And, the 2014 cumulative […]

New Releases: June

June 10, 2014

2

  The Truth Against the World by Sarah Jamila Stevenson; Flux In her parents’ San Francisco flat, Olwen Nia Evans, Wyn for short, has been having unsettling dreams about her family’s past in Wales. But her dreams don’t match up with what she’s been told by her dying grandmother, Rhiannon. On the other side of the […]

Roundup: May

May 30, 2014

Comments Off on Roundup: May

As happens every month, new diversity releases for the month are list here, at Diversity in YA and at Rich in Color. And each month, we all manage to have different lists. I only list books written by authors of color. Rich In Color “is dedicated to reading, reviewing, talking about, and otherwise promoting young […]