Saturday Trailers: Dove Arising

What better day for a book trailer than a Saturday? Dove Arising by Karen Boa releases 24 Feb. “Be there or be a regular quadrilateral”.

Phaet Theta has lived her whole life in a colony on the Moon. She’s barely spoken since her father died in an accident nine years ago. She cultivates the plants in Greenhouse 22, lets her best friend talk for her, and stays off the government’s radar.

Then her mother is arrested.

The only way to save her younger siblings from the degrading Shelter is by enlisting in the Militia, the faceless army that polices the Lunar bases and protects them from attacks by desperate Earth-dwellers. Training is brutal, but it’s where Phaet forms an uneasy but meaningful alliance with the preternaturally accomplished Wes, a fellow outsider.

Rank high, save her siblings, free her mom: that’s the plan. Until Phaet’s logically ordered world begins to crumble…

Suspenseful, intelligent, and hauntingly prescient, Dove Arising stands on the shoulders of our greatest tales of the future to tell a story that is all too relevant today.

I didn’t realize that Christopher Paolini maintains a blog where among other things, he posts interviews with authors. What great networking! Here, the two authors discuss artistic choices Bao made in writing what is the first book in her trilogy, how Bao, a full-time student, manages to find time to write and why they’ve both decided to stop using italics in their writing. I’m so glad they did!

Saturday Trailer

What better day for a book trailer than a Saturday?

Cindy L. Rodriguez began her professional life as a journalist. She transitioned to a high school Language Arts teacher and then a Reading cindyrodriguez2Specialist for middle schoolers. Her career path indicates a love of language, of literature and of children. Cindy debuts as an author this year with the release of When Reason Breaks.

Cindy’s idea for the novel began in 2004 when she took an author centered graduate course. She began to develop scenes for the novel in her mind, but developing the story was overshadowed by more courses, more certifications and the adoption of her daughter. As 2008 ended, the story could wait no longer and it began to pour out of her. Months of sending her manuscript out, rewriting and query searching led to this happy dance when she signed her first book with Bloomsbury Children’s Books at USA.

Cindy is a Fearless Fifteener who maintains her own blog and who blogs at Latin@s in Kidlit. She is a vibrant part of the Latin@ literary community, working tirelessly to promote Latin@ authors and literature.

Saturday Trailer: Dreaming in Indian

What better day for book trailers than a Saturday? Dreaming in Indian is a non-fiction book that was released in 2014 by editors Lisa Charleyboy (Tsilhqot’in) and Mary Beth Leatherdale. Charleyboy is the Editor in Chief of Urban Native Magazine and Leatherdale writes, edits and consults on books, magazines and digital resources for children and youth.

Saturday Trailer: The Girl From the Well

What better day for book trailers than a Saturday? Girl From the Well by Rin Chupeco (Sourcebooks Fire) was released this past August. Chepeco’s Amazon page states “Despite an unsettling resemblance to Japanese revenants, Rin always maintains her sense of hummus. Born and raised in Manila, Philippines, she keeps four pets: a dog, two birds, and a husband” and her website states that she read Stephen King’s Pet Semetary at the age of 6 and thought it was a sad book about a cat. It also says that Book 2 of the Unnatural State of Dead Girls in Wells in in progress.

And Dead Girls in Wells?

I am where dead children go.

Okiku is a lonely soul. She has wandered the world for centuries, freeing the spirits of the murdered-dead. Once a victim herself, she now takes the lives of killers with the vengeance they’re due. But releasing innocent ghosts from their ethereal tethers does not bring Okiku peace. Still she drifts on.

Such is her existence, until she meets Tark. Evil writhes beneath the moody teen’s skin, trapped by a series of intricate tattoos. While his neighbors fear him, Okiku knows the boy is not a monster. Tark needs to be freed from the malevolence that clings to him. There’s just one problem: if the demon dies, so does its host.

source

Saturday Trailer: Lamar Giles

Today’s video isn’t really a book trailer, rather it’s an interview with debut author Lamar Giles produced by his local TV station.

lrgiles_fake_id_headshot_color_medon Facebook 51qBzBFEtPL._SX228_BO1,204,203,200_

on Twitter

on the BrownBookshelfFake-ID-by-Lamar-Giles-150x150

 

 

 

 

Debut author Lamar Giles takes readers on a wild and dark ride in this contemporary Witness Protection thriller. Fake ID is a compelling story full of twists and turns—sure to appeal to fans of James Patterson, Harlan Coben, and John Grisham.

Nick Pearson is hiding in plain sight. In fact, his name isn’t really Nick Pearson. He shouldn’t tell you his real name, his real hometown, or why his family just moved to Stepton, Virginia. And he definitely shouldn’t tell you about his friend Eli Cruz and the major conspiracy Eli was uncovering when he died. About how Nick had to choose between solving Eli’s murder with his hot sister, Reya, and “staying low-key” like the Program said to do.

But he’s going to tell you—unless he gets caught first. . .